comments 5

Flare Jeans

Flare jeans are back in vogue. What do you think? Would you wear flares again? I primarily wear skinny jeans, which are great and have a time and a place. (Hey! Knee high boots, I’m looking at you! Also back in fashion.) But it’s always fun to mix it up a bit and wear different styles. I know flares returning will please my husband, Toby. He was never a fan of the skinny jean. A question for you all, would you wear something for your partner that maybe you’re not crazy about, but that they love?

natalieoffdutyflarejeansFlare CollageFlare Jeans Collage 2etpourquoipascolineflares

Flares evoke a funky 70s vibe. I think the best way to style them is to pair it with something a little more fitted or cropped on top, like a cropped sweater or a button down shirt. It’s basically the inverse of how a lot of us style our skinny jeans. It’s also important for find a good proportion. I’m pretty short, so something that has a major flare just dwarfs me and accentuates my hips. I look for something not quite so extreme and generally need to pair them with a pair of chunky heeled bots, so I’m not swimming and stomping on the hem. Flares are something that take a bit of finessing, but they are such a fun and cool style to mix in with our other jeans. My favorite look above is the all purple one with purple corduroy flares. What do you think? Would you give flares a chance again?

Image sources: 1 // 2 // 3 // 4 // 5 // 6 // 7 // 8 // 9 // 10 //

5 Comments

    • Ha! Such perfect timing!! I dug my pair out and it’s a nice change!! My week has been good, my dear! Although my energy levels have been feeling a bit low. Seems like I could use some extra rest. How about you, sweetie?! xo

      • Same here, a bit low on energy. Must be the weather and shorter days:) Stay cozy, darling and talk to you soon:) xoxo

  1. Hmmmm… I’m considering it 🙂
    As I said to Diana on her post on bell-bottoms, I have already done one 70s revival as a teen in the late 90s, and I am not sure I am ready for a second 😉

    But it is true that more subtle ones, a cross between bell-bottoms and bootcuts, could be fun and flattering. I keep going back and forth on it, so my answer is not yet, I guess 🙂

    • Hi Elisa,

      You are totally right, a smaller, less exaggerated flare is way more wearable. I too lived through the 90s revival. Remember raver jeans, where they were bigger than bell bottoms?! OMG! Those were terrible! 🙂

Leave a comment